BCMG members conducting a plant sale.

Plant sales benefit BCMG Scholarship Fund.

Who We Are

Master Gardeners are members of the local community who take an active interest in their lawns, trees, shrubs, flowers and gardens. We form a network of highly qualified and concerned people who are capable of implementing a wide range of activities useful to the community. What really sets Master Gardeners apart from other home gardeners is their special training in horticulture. In exchange for their training, persons who become Master Gardeners contribute time as volunteers, working through the Bexar County AgriLife Extension office to provide horticulture-related information to our community.

Our Mission

As the volunteer educational arm of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, the mission of the Bexar County Master Gardeners is to educate our community and surrounding areas on water conservation and research-based gardening practices and techniques as developed by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service of the Texas A&M University System.

Board & Staff

The 2017 – 2018 BCMG Board of Directors is here to serve the master gardeners of Bexar County and to assist Bexar County Texas A&M Agrilife Extension Service in providing educational opportunities to the community in which we live. BOD meetings are held at on the second Thursday of each month before the evening BCMG meetings and after the afternoon seminars. All members are welcome to observe the meetings; however, in order to accommodate seating, please email the President that you will be attending.
And, feel free to contact the board – or a particular member – with suggestions, ideas and comments.

2015 – 2016 Board Name Email
President Jack Downey President@bexarmg.org
Vice President Grace Emery VP@bexarmg.org
Treasurer Lori Bindsell Treasurer@bexarmg.org
Secretary Ann Marie Pease Secretary@bexarmg.org
Membership Director Lisa Nixon Membership@bexarmg.org
Member at Large Marybeth Parsons Member1@bexarmg.org
Member at Large John Maldonado Member2@bexarmg.org
Past President Barbara Lutz PastPresident@bexarmg.org


Position Name Email
County Extension Agent – Horticulture David Rodriguez dhrodriguez@tamu.ag.edu
Administrative Assistant – Horticulture Denise Perez dsperez@ag.tamu.edu
Office Manager Mike Mangiapane office@bexarmg.org
Water Conservation Coordinator Anna Vogler water@bexarmg.org 
Youth Gardens Coordinator Ruby Zavala youthgardens@bexarmg.org