BCMG members conducting a plant sale.

Plant sales benefit BCMG Scholarship Fund.

Who We Are

Master Gardeners are members of the local community who take an active interest in their lawns, trees, shrubs, flowers and gardens. We form a network of highly qualified and concerned people who are capable of implementing a wide range of activities useful to the community. What really sets Master Gardeners apart from other home gardeners is their special training in horticulture. In exchange for their training, persons who become Master Gardeners contribute time as volunteers, working through the Bexar County AgriLife Extension office to provide horticulture-related information to our community.

Board & Staff

The 2016 – 2017 BCMG Board of Directors is here to serve the master gardeners of Bexar County and to assist Bexar County Texas A&M Agrilife Extension Service in providing educational opportunities to the community in which we live. BOD meetings are held at on the second Thursday of each month before the evening BCMG meetings and after the afternoon seminars. All members are welcome to observe the meetings; however, in order to accommodate seating, please email the President that you will be attending.
And, feel free to contact the board – or a particular member – with suggestions, ideas and comments.

2015 – 2016 Board Name Email
President Jack Downey President@bexarmg.org
Vice President Ruben Lozano vp@bexarmg.org
Treasurer Lori Bindsell Treasurer@bexarmg.org
Secretary Sherry Cantrell Secretary@bexarmg.org
Membership Director Inez Ornelas Membership@bexarmg.org
Member at Large Marybeth Parsons Member1@bexarmg.org
Member at Large Ann Marie Pease Member2@bexarmg.org
Past President Barbara Lutz PastPresident@bexarmg.org

Staff

Position Name Email
County Extension Agent – Horticulture David Rodriguez dhrodriguez@tamu.ag.edu
Administrative Assistant – Horticulture Denise Perez dsperez@ag.tamu.edu
Office Manager Jan Potter office@bexarmg.org
Youth Gardens Coordinator Ruby Zavala youthgardens@bexarmg.org
Water Conservation Coordinator Anna Vogler water@bexarmg.org